Coffee Monitor: Ethiopia

Independent evidence on Ethiopia's coffee economy · Seattle, Washington

The Record

What was said, who said it, where it can be checked, and whether an account sits behind it.

A figure given in a speech and a figure published in a release are different objects. The first can be repeated. Only the second can be checked, revised, disaggregated, or built on.

Documentation status is not a judgment about truth. An official statement is evidence. It is simply not a reproducible statistical account, and the difference matters when the number is going to be quoted for a year.

Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26 (2018 E.C.)

9 entries · reviewed 28 August 2026
14 August 2026 Published, this record

Ethiopia's new coffee traceability system can identify the plot a lot came from, which is what Europe requires. It is not established that it records the price paid to the grower, which is what Ethiopia needs.

Speaker or institution
Wondwossen Mezlekia
Venue
Addis Fortune, Commentary (subscription)
Exact source
"Europe Needs the Plot, Ethiopia Needs the Price," Addis Fortune, 14 August 2026
Reporting period
ECTMS technical handover, March 2026
Definition used
GIZ has stated publicly that the system provides end-to-end traceability from farm to export, developed by the Coffee and Tea Authority with GIZ support through the SUVASE programme and built under contract by a local software company. That baseline is now established. What remains unresolved is whether the system records the first economic transaction: a price, a value, a persistent grower identifier, or any transaction event at all. That is standing question three, now with the Authority.
Coffee Monitor note
This entry opens a second front on the same question. Until now the obstacle to a farm-gate price series has been described as institutional. This system changes the arithmetic of the ask. A traceability layer that already reaches the individual plot, because a foreign regulator insisted on it, is the cheapest place a farm-gate price record will ever be built. If the system already captures a transaction price, the series exists in draft and needs only to be published. If it does not, adding the field is a far smaller undertaking than building the system was. Either way the question is now concrete enough to be answered in a sentence by the Authority, and it is logged as a standing question below.
Correction history
None.
14 August 2026 Published, this record

The world's coffee statistics are precise about what leaves the port and silent about what reaches the farm. Ethiopia is the clearest case, and the fix is a farm-gate record rather than a better export figure.

Speaker or institution
Wondwossen Mezlekia
Venue
African Arguments, essay
Exact source
"Ethiopia Counts Coffee at the Wrong End," African Arguments, 14 August 2026
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26 (2018 E.C.)
Coffee Monitor note
Logged because it puts the argument to an international readership rather than an Ethiopian policy one. Free to read.
Correction history
None.
11 August 2026 Officially stated

A Ministry of Agriculture programme sets a coffee yield target of 900 to 2,100 kilogrammes per hectare across 1.15 million hectares, on a ten-year timeline.

Speaker or institution
Ministry of Agriculture
Venue
Programme announcement, 11 August 2026
Exact source
Reconciled against earlier official statements by Idriss Linge, "Ethiopia's Coffee Yield Target Doubled in Length. The Revenue Target Did Not Move," Ecofin Agency, 13 August 2026.
Reporting period
Ten years from announcement
Definition used
Not stated. The yield range is given without a baseline year, a measurement method, or a statement of which plantings it covers.
Coffee Monitor note
Two discrepancies sit inside official statements made seven weeks apart, and neither has been explained. First, the same 900 to 2,100 kilogramme target was given on 27 June by the Authority's Director General with a five-year deadline of 2031 and a six billion dollar export target attached; the deadline has now doubled to ten years while the revenue target has not moved. Second, the Authority's claimed production increase, from 500,000 to 1.5 million tonnes, is more than double the United States Department of Agriculture's 2025/26 estimate of roughly 700,000 to 730,000 tonnes, and it is inconsistent with the Ministry's own figures: 1.15 million hectares at 900 kilogrammes per hectare implies about 1.04 million tonnes, not 1.5 million. Logged here because it is a clean example of the pattern this site exists to record. Targets are announced, restated with different terms, and never reconciled in writing.
Correction history
None.
18 July 2026 Published, this record

The export record announced to Parliament measures what coffee earned at the border and says nothing about what reached the grower; the Authority's planned Coffee Fund will only close that gap if it pays at the farm gate.

Speaker or institution
Wondwossen Mezlekia
Venue
Addis Fortune, op-ed (subscription)
Exact source
"The Missing Half of Ethiopia's Coffee Plan," Addis Fortune, 18 July 2026
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26 (2018 E.C.)
Coffee Monitor note
Logged for the record because it is the argument entering the Ethiopian policy press. The full case is in the policy brief.
Correction history
None.
12 July 2026 Officially stated

The Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority is preparing a Coffee Fund to cushion price shocks and help replace ageing coffee trees.

Speaker or institution
Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority, as reported
Venue
Addis Fortune, reported by Bezawit Huluager
Exact source
"Authority Pins Hope on a Coffee Fund as Trees Grow Old," Addis Fortune, 12 July 2026
Reporting period
Fund in preparation; design not yet finalised
Definition used
The reported design triggers relief through the buyer. A proposed ten-cent-per-kilogramme levy in the same article is attributed to a rural-finance researcher rather than to the Authority. The article reports that the fund's management arrangement is not yet decided.
Coffee Monitor note
The state is now proposing the instrument this site has argued for. The open question is where the trigger sits: a fund that pays through the buyer does not, by itself, put money in the grower's hands or generate a farm-gate price record. A fund that pays direct to verified grower accounts does both. That distinction is the whole of the brief.
Correction history
None.
7 July 2026 Officially stated

Ethiopia earned 3.1 billion dollars from coffee exports in 2025/26, up from 2.65 billion dollars the previous year.

Speaker or institution
Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed
Venue
House of Peoples' Representatives
Exact source
Statement to the House of Peoples' Representatives, delivered on the closing day of the fiscal year, 7 July 2026. Widely reported at the time. No written close-of-year release from the Authority has been located.
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26, closing 7 July 2026
Definition used
Not stated. The figure is presented as coffee export earnings. It is not specified whether it is gross export value, receipts repatriated, contract value, or shipped value, nor whether it is free on board.
Coffee Monitor note
The figure has been reproduced across the international press within days. No written close-of-year release from the Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority has been located, and until one appears the figure carries the attribution of a parliamentary statement rather than of a statistical publication. When a written release appears, this entry moves to Published figure, and the coverage index moves with it.
Correction history
None.
25 June 2026 Officially stated

Ethiopia has exceeded its annual coffee export record before the close of the fiscal year.

Speaker or institution
Agriculture Minister Addisu Arega
Venue
Public announcement
Exact source
Public statement by the Agriculture Minister, 25 June 2026, as reported in the Ethiopian press. No written release carrying the figure has been located.
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26, then still open
Definition used
Not stated. The record referred to is presumed to be export earnings rather than volume, but this is not made explicit.
Coffee Monitor note
Announced with the year still open, which is normal practice and not a criticism. It is logged because the sequence of announcements matters: a record is declared, a figure follows, and the written account arrives late or not at all.
Correction history
None.
31 March 2026 Officially stated, in writing

Export volume for coffee and oilseed declined against the same period of the previous fiscal year, while the balance of payments recorded significant improvements in exports, particularly coffee and gold.

Speaker or institution
National Bank of Ethiopia, Monetary Policy Committee
Venue
Press release, MPC Meeting No. 6 (meeting held 21 March 2026)
Exact source
Press Release, Monetary Policy Committee Meeting No. 6, National Bank of Ethiopia, 31 March 2026. The volume statement appears under Growth and Economic Activity; the export improvement appears under External Sector.
Reporting period
First eight months of FY 2025/26
Definition used
None given for either statement. The volume decline is reported as a direction of travel with no tonnage, no percentage, and no stated baseline. The export improvement is reported inside a balance of payments passage without a coffee-specific figure.
Coffee Monitor note
Two statements about coffee sit in this release, in separate sections, covering the same eight months. The Bank reports coffee export volume falling against the previous year, and coffee export earnings improving significantly. They are not in conflict. Read together they indicate that over those eight months earnings rose while volume fell, which is a price effect rather than a volume one. The release covers eight months, not the closed year, so the inference holds for that period and not yet for 2025/26 as a whole. That bears directly on the record announced in July. Earnings driven by a world price are not evidence of a domestic production gain, and they sharpen rather than soften the question of how much of that price reached the grower. This release does not move the export volume row on the coverage index. Step four requires a figure, and none is given for coffee volume here, only a direction. What does change is the quality of the attribution: for the first time in this crop year the claim is written, retrievable, and attributable to the central bank rather than spoken from a podium.
Correction history
None.
Standing since 2020 Unrated, source not admissible

The Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority and the National Bank of Ethiopia operate a joint daily coffee price desk.

Speaker or institution
ECTA and the National Bank of Ethiopia
Venue
Standing institutional arrangement
Exact source
No admissible source on file. The arrangement is described in Beyond the Coffee Record, SSRN working paper 7142558 (2026), which is Coffee Monitor's own work and therefore cannot serve as evidence for a Coffee Monitor rating. No institutional publication of the desk or its series has been located.
Reporting period
Daily, 2020 to present
Definition used
Unknown. The internal desk described here is a different object from the published minimum registration price, which is adjudicated separately on the coverage index under public reference price. Neither carries a rating at present.
Coffee Monitor note
This entry carries no rating, and the reason is worth stating plainly. The only source Coffee Monitor holds for the desk is Coffee Monitor's own working paper. Under the evidence standard, our own material is never admissible as evidence for our own claim, so the row stays unrated until an institutional document is located. That is the same test applied to every origin in the Observatory, and it is applied here against our own strongest argument.
Why it still matters
If the desk operates as described, a daily price has been collected by the state for six years and publishing it would require no new capacity, no new budget, and no new institution. That is a claim, not a finding, until a document exists. It is standing question two.
Correction history
None.

Standing questions

6 standing

Six questions are put to the record and left open until they are answered in writing. Each names an institution that could close it in an afternoon, and each asks for a document rather than an opinion. What was asked, of whom, on what date, and what came back is logged in public, including when nothing comes back.

Read the standing questions and the log →